Skip to content

Well, what are you then?

February 8, 2007

A. T. Robertson said, “Give a man an open Bible, an open mind, a conscience in good working order, and he will have a hard time to keep from being a Baptist.”

This is true, but not impossible. I have an open Bible, I like to think I have an open mind and a working conscience, but I am not a Baptist and have found it very easy to avoid becoming one in my Christian life.

Even when I was the pastor of a Baptist church (which did not last long because we changed the name) I was not a Baptist. Even though I am now a lead pastor at a Baptist church I am still not a Baptist. Even though I teach at a seminary that is very baptistic and is on the grounds of a Baptist church, I am still not a Baptist. On more than one occasion I have told everyone at all these places that I am not a Baptist. Some have tried to make me a Baptist. Some have proclaimed me a Baptist. But I never succumbed.

But, I am mostly Baptist. I think everyone should be at least a little bit Baptist. It would be a good thing, but too much of a good thing can be bad for you.

I also have some Presbyterian in me along with some Methodist, a little bit of Old Time Pentecostal and even some Emergent/Missional/Whatever You Call It.

I may believe and look suspiciously like a Baptist, but I have enough of this other religious blood in me to keep me from being diagnosed with being Baptist. Which is fine with me.

The thing is, most of the Baptists I have met are not completely Baptist either. In my experience even they don’t want to be identified with the purebred Baptists we have met.

When I explain this to people they always ask, “What are you then?” The nearest description I can give them is that I am a middle class American white guy who is a sinner saved by the grace of God through faith in Jesus Christ and what He did for me.

That makes me a Christian, but beyond that I am having a hard time coming up with another label. But I’m not a Baptist.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 8, 2007 6:34 pm

    I trust all baptists are missional! (and every other labeled group as well)

Don't drop by without saying hi

