Skip to content

A Church Culture Faux-Pas

April 16, 2007

I have been reading in the gospels lately. I have also been thinking about church culture.

Neither activity was spurred on or begun by the other, they were just independent tracks of thought. For the last few days they have merged a bit in my thinking.

I have come to a conclusion that I think is quite revealing about myself.

I would eat meat sacrificed to idols and drink wine with prostitutes and tax-gatherers.

I have no doubt that such a meal would be more fun and interesting than most meals I have had with the average person who attends church.

I also have no doubt that our conversation would be more spiritually significant than most conversations I have had with the average church attender.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sprocket23 permalink
    April 16, 2007 6:41 pm

    The sad thing is, I agree with you:I too would much rather have wine with an IRS agent and a prostitute than go to the average church potluck… and we would talk more about Jesus and His Kingdom while we were at it. But I am so much a part of church culture as a minister that I would be worrying the whole time that someone might see me and that I would have to explain my actions, get hauled before the elders, lose my job, go back to driving a truck and become a bitter, surly man. Jesus was lucky, he didn’t have to deal with the church. 8-)

  2. April 17, 2007 2:21 pm

    I know how you feel. I am tired of the weaker brother dictating church chulture according to his weakness.
    Be careful, you don’t want to become a bitter, surly minister, it would be better to be a truck driver.
    BTW, how is the new ministry?

Don't drop by without saying hi

