Skip to content

The Imitation of People

April 24, 2014

Imitating people who exhibit godly character is beneficial to our own walk with God. Peter, Paul and the writer of Hebrews all asked believers to follow their examples of pursuing Christ, 1 Cor. 4:16, 11:1; Phil. 3:17; 1 Thes. 1:6; 2 Thes. 3:9; Heb. 13:7; 1 Pet. 5:3.

I was considering who I know that I admire, who I look at and want to imitate as I wander through this world. My admiration has never been directed at those with large and far reaching ministries. Many people I admire would definitely be considered insignificant to the world and, sadly, they would be viewed that way by most of the church as well. But, I admire them greatly and I have no doubt that God will reward them significantly, though hardly anyone notices them in this world. They have labored in obscurity and continue to do so. They don’t have a big ministry, are not wildly successful, won’t produce any profound or lasting works, most will die on the verge of poverty and will be mourned only by their immediate family and a few close friends. And they will be forgotten within two generations of their death, but they are great people and I am thankful for knowing them.

I know older godly people who have been faithful in ministry and faithful at home, and younger people who are working at mastering their minds and their desires at a young age and are working at growing in faithfulness to God. I admire people who remain true to their convictions though it cost them dearly; people who endure hardships, suffering, difficulties, sins, and failures and still are not bitter and cynical; people who have lost their dreams and bear heavy burdens through life and yet still don’t lose hope; and people who love others when their love is not returned. So many unknown and unpopular people have been a great encouragement to me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kirby Wallace permalink
    May 27, 2014 10:09 am

    I’ve known for a long time who I admire.

    “And Jonathan said to the young man that bare his armour, Come, and let us go over unto the garrison of these uncircumcised: it may be that the LORD will work for us: for there is no restraint to the LORD to save by many or by few. And his armour-bearer said unto him, Do all that is in thine heart: turn thee; behold, I am with thee according to thy heart.”

    I’m not the brave warrior Jonathan, in this scenario. I aspire to be like this armour bearer.

    • May 27, 2014 7:11 pm

      Ah, to say to God and mean it, “I am with Thee according to Thy heart.”

Don't drop by without saying hi

